Tag Archives: NUC approved Grading system for Nigerian universities

Newly Approved Grading System for Nigerian Universities

National University commission, NUC has approved a new grading system for Universities in Nigeria. The new approved grading system is a Four (4)-Point Grading Scale.
Under the new Four (4)-Point Grading Scale, grades to be used for students who have satisfactorily completed the course of study are as follows:

Grade      | Marks|      Grade Point
A.            (70 & Above)     4
B.             (60-69%)             3
C.             (50-59%)             2
D.            (45-49%)             1
E.              (40-44%)            0

CGPA Ranges under the new Four (4) – Point Grading Scale for Classification of Degrees:

3.5- 4.00 – First Class Honours.
3.0-3.49 – Second Class Honours (Upper Division.)
2.0-2.99 – Second Class Honours (Lower Division.)
1.0-1.99 – Third Class Honours

No student whose CGPA is less than 1.0 shall be awarded a degree.

Deans of Faculties and Heads of Departments are enjoined to ensure compliance and commencement of the new regulations with the intakes of 2017/2018 Session, while the old regulations remain applicable to students admitted before the 2017/2018 Session.