Skip to content

Grading System in Nigerian Universities; Newly Approved

National University commission, NUC has approved grading system for Nigeria Universities which has started taken effect since 2017/2018 newly admitted students. The new approved grading system is a Four (4)-Point Grading Scale.
This Grading System are used for students who have satisfactorily completed their course of study and are as follows:

Grading System for Nigerian Universities

|Grade| —-| Marks| —— |Grade Point|
A.——- (70 & Above) ——  4.0
B.——- (60-69%) ———-   3
C. —— (50-59%) ———–   2
D. —— (45-49%) ———–   1
E. ——- (40-44%) ———-    0

Read Also: UNN Departmental Cut Off Mark for Admission

CGPA Ranges under the new Four (4) – Point Grading Scale for Classification of Degrees is as follows:

3.5- 4.00 – First Class Honours.
3.0-3.49 – Second Class Honours (Upper Division.)
2.0-2.99 – Second Class Honours (Lower Division.)
1.0-1.99 – Third Class Honours

No student whose CGPA is less than 1.0 shall be awarded a degree.

Read Also: National Common Entrance Examination Cut-Off Marks of State in Nigeria

Deans of Faculties and Heads of Departments are enjoined to ensure compliance and commencement of the new regulations with the intakes of 2017/2018 Session, while the old regulations remain applicable to students admitted before the 2017/2018 Session.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *